Home to one of the oldest Presbyterian congregations in Canada, St. Andrew’s was founded in 1830, and was first located at the southwest corner of Church and Adelaide Streets. The congregation’s first building was abandoned when it became too small for the expanding congregation.
The present building was opened for worship in 1876 and is built in the Romanesque Revival style. At that time the King and Simcoe Streets location was a busy place and most of the congregation lived within easy walking distance of the church. Across the street stood Government House, the official residence of the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. Upper Canada College stood on a second corner and on a third was a popular tavern. With St. Andrew’s, the four corners were known locally as Legislation, Education, Damnation and Salvation!!
Of particular interest may be the Gallery Organ and choir loft. In 1852 St. Andrew’s was the first Presbyterian church in Canada to introduce organ music – and at the time this was quite a controversial decision — and which seems hard to believe today, since music has long played an integral part of both worship and outreach at St. Andrew’s.
We have many beautiful stained glass windows, with the 48th Highlanders window being one of the most unique in Canada. Dedicated in 1937 it reflects St. Andrew’s long history with the 48th Highlanders, a regiment founded in 1891. Did you know that their museum, which includes one of the original Vimy Ridge crosses, is located in the basement of the church and is open to the public on Wednesdays and Thursdays?